Type Directors Club Annual Awards Night
Rose Auditorium, The Cooper Union
New York, New York
July 17, 2019

TDC board members and competition chairs Bobby Martin (Design) and Nina Stossinger (Type Design) host our annual awards ceremony and exhibition opening.

The event celebrates The World’s Best Typography: The 65th Annual design competition. The awards ceremony features highlights from communication design and typeface design competitions, as well as announcements for the Best in Show, Best in Show Student Awards, Beatrice Warde and other scholarship recipients, and the 2019 Ascenders.

This video includes an excerpt of an interview with Wim Crouwel as he received the 32nd TDC Medal at his studio in Amsterdam. Over the past 52 years, the TDC Medal has been awarded to individuals who excel in the field of typography and typographic design.

Event sponsors: The Cooper Union, The Herb Lubalin Study Center, and Monotype