Type, drinks, and friends!

The Type Directors Club invites members, its honorees, and the press to the private New York opening of The World’s Best Typography: The 65th Annual Exhibition of the Type Directors Club. The exhibition features communication design and the selections from the twenty-first annual typeface design competition, which will be on display through August 9, 2019.

Announcements of the Best in Show, Best in Show Student Awards and Scholarship presentations start at 6:30 PM in the auditorium. Please join us as we also present the 32nd TDC Medal to Wim Crouwel. Over the past 52 years the TDC Medal has been awarded to individuals who excel in the field of typography and typographic design.

Drinks and hors d’ouevres in the foyer.
Exhibition viewing in the gallery.

Only winners of the TDC competitions will receive FREE tickets. Everyone is invited but must purchase tickets.

TDC65 Judges

Karin Fong, Imaginary Forces
Leo Jung, Sunday Magazine
Eddie Opara, Pentagram
Paulina Reyes, Plated New York
Ian Spalter, Instagram
Annik Troxler, Switzerland
Zipeng Zhu, Dazzle

Chair: Bobby Martin, Jr., OCD

Typeface Design Judges

Nicole Dotin, Process Type Foundry
Tobias Frere-Jones, Frere-Jones Type
Erin McLaughlin
Kristyan Sarkis, TPTQ Arabic Type Foundry

Chair: Nina Stössinger, Frere-Jones Type

Designed by Bond, London

This event is sponsored by Monotype and The Cooper Union